2018 Sheriff’s Gala

Saturday, February 27th marked the first annual Sheriff’s Gala to benefit the Flagler Sheriff’s Employee Assistance Trust (FSEAT). The event was held at the Hammock Beach Resort and was attended by more than 200 guests.

Some of the top sponsors of the evening included Dr. Caesar DePaço, who is also the Honorary Consul of Portugal, The Douglas Family, Palm Coast Ford, and the Hammock Beach Resort. There was also a live auction for a Friday night ride along with the Sheriff, which included receiving Sheriff Staly’s personally autographed western hat and a day for two training and observing the FCSO SWAT team.

Also at the Gala Sheriff Rick Staly recognized members of the Flagler County Sheriff’s Office, volunteers and citizens for outstanding service to the community in 2017. (To be eligible for deputy sheriff or civilian of the year the recipient must have been selected for employee of the month during 2017.)  The awards were as follows:

  • Deputy Braxton Wall – 2017 Law Enforcement Deputy of the Year
    • Deputy Braxton Wall is a proactive and invaluable part of our Community Policing Division. His instincts and training have prevented several potential crimes from occurring in our community and his efforts have taken dangerous criminals off our streets and made our community a safer place to live.
  • Deputy Brian Sheridan – 2017 Detention Deputy of the Year
    • Deputy Brian Sheridan is a wonderful asset and a great example to the employees at the detention facility. He displayed professionalism and integrity during a difficult situation at the jail this past year. Deputy Sheridan is a true testament to our mission statement – an honor to serve and a duty to protect.
  • Shannon Sandberg – 2017 Civilian of the Year
    • Crime Analyst Shannon Sandberg has been instrumental in the success of dozens of criminal investigations in 2017 and was instrumental for the success of CRIMEMAPS. Shannon consistently demonstrates dedication, excellence and professionalism on a daily basis.
  • Sonia Byrne – 2017 Volunteer of the Year
    • COP Director Sonia Byrne consistently goes above and beyond anything you would ever expect of a volunteer. In 2017, Sonia devoted over 2,500 hours to the Flagler County Sheriff’s Office Citizen Observer Program. During the last 15 years, Sonia has volunteered over 32,000 hours. Her dedication and support are very important to the agency.
  • Ladena Rutland – 2017 Citizen of the Year
    • Rutland rushed to the aid of two young boys who had been injured by exploding fireworks, one of whom received life-altering injuries. She immediately drove them to a nearby hospital while call 9-1-1.  She is recognized for her selfless act and being a Good Samaritan by taking immediate action and getting them medical aid.

“I can’t thank the community enough for the support they have shown the men and women of the Flagler County Sheriff’s Office tonight through their donations and sponsorships,” Sheriff Rick Staly said. “I am personally moved by the generosity of our sponsors and to all who have contributed to FSEAT and making the First Annual Sheriff’s Gala a huge success. Thank you all.”

A net of $70,645.28 was raised for FSEAT to benefit the men and women of the Flagler County Sheriff’s Office should.  The 2nd Annual Sheriff’s Gala is scheduled for January 26, 2019 at the Hammock Beach Club.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close